University of Colombo

Information and Documentation Centre

Faculty of Arts


Introduction to the Course Unit System

The Faculty of Arts, University of Colombo, implemented the Course Unit System (CUs) in 1998. There are many benefits to the students such as extended lecture hours per unit in both semesters, flexibility in designing one’s own study programme and increased transparency in relation to course outlines and evaluations.

The Academic Year and Semesters

The academic year is divided into two semesters - Semester I and Semester II. The Calendar of Dates for the academic year provides you with information regarding the duration of the semesters, period of study leave and examinations.

Demography | English| Economics| Geography | History | International Relations|Political Sc. & Pub. Policy| Sinhala| Sociology


Last Updated : 29 March, 2014 4:39 PM

Created & Maintained by : Faculty of Arts - Web Team

Copyright © 2014 Faculty of Arts, University of Colombo. All rights reserved.